You are being served a version of this page without styles because your browser is an older version. Everything is still available and functional, but the presentation is plainer than intended.

Ev and Jean Beuerman at Big Basin in 1996

Bon Tempe - Results

Date: Saturday/Sunday, December 18/19, 2004
Location: Fairfax, CA.
Event Director: - 510.658.4327
Course Setter: Dwight Freund
C; Short, Medium, & Long Advanced Course only.
Skip to the Results

Writeup by Penny and Harold DeMoss

Dan Green finishing at Dalmur on Day 2 of the 2002 APOC event in Alberta, Canada (Photo: Tony Pinkham)

It's never been so beautiful for a meet at Bon Tempe as it was this weekend. Both Sat. and Sun. were gorgeous, and since there was no weather advantage whatsoever, I will combine the two days' times into one list. Dwight Freund set three fun and interesting courses, all of which went onto the mysterious Hillside of Death, with the warning that it seemed to have rearranged itself once again. As always, since this map has its problems, there was lots of animated discussion about "this and that" being wrong... It was so funny... everyone talking at once. Anyway, it was fun and a nice way to thank those of you who could make it, for your volunteer efforts during the last year.

The short course was 3.9 km, 160 m climb, with 8 controls. The fastest time was run by Derek Maclean, who had planned on doing the long course but was ill all week, so decided to give his body a break. George Minarik was second, and Stephanie Maclean was third. The Medium course was 4.8 km, 200 m climb, and 9 controls. Gary Carpenter came out of retirement to turn in the fastest time, with Gary Kraght in second, and Harold DeMoss was third. The long course was 5.8 km, 290 m climb, 14 controls. A visiting Finn, Jukka Kokkoniemi, who admittedly hasn't volunteered for us this year, but did volunteer to pick up controls today, turned in the fastest time. Interestingly, he runs with no compass... and get this, even at night O! I wouldn't recommend trying that trick. Second was Syd Reader, and third was Francois Leonard.

Max and Victoria at the Emerald Hills Street-O in 2003, after answering the question "How many skunks on the fence?"

Thanks very much to the following people who helped Harold and me pull this meet off pretty much at the last minute. Rosemary Johnson got the permits worked out. As I mentioned Dwight Freund set the courses. Bob Cooley printed the maps and clue sheets. The following people helped pick up controls: Evan Custer, Mark Blair, Steve Gregg, and Dwight Freund.

Thanks also to Dean and Donna French for bringing enough orange juice for all.

Don't forget, if you got your splits, you can e-mail them to Tapio and then draw your route on Gadget. It's easy, even I have done it.

Penny and Harold DeMoss

Click to enlarge - Montebello Open Space Preserve, looking from the start toward the finish (2004)


Short Course    (3.9 km, 160 m climb, 8 controls)

   1  Derek Maclean                  44:41
   2  George Minarik                 52:54
   3  Stephanie Maclean            1:11:40
   4  Marsha Jacobs                1:30:10
   5  Rosemary Johnson             1:56:13
   6  Vic Revenko                  2:02:20
   7  Dean & Donna French          3:26:30

      Brad Johanson, Andrew Garner   DNF

Medium Course   (4.8 km, 200 m climb, 9 controls)

   1  Gary Carpenter               1:03:25
   2  Gary Kraght                  1:20:30
   3  Harold DeMoss                1:38:07
   4  Rob Clima, Laura McKeegan    2:16:39
   5  Oleg Shakhnovsky             2:31:10
   6  Alan Houser                  2:37:20
   7  Joan Roos                    2:48:27

      Nancy Lindeman                 DNF

Long Course     (5.8 km, 290 m climb, 14 controls)

   1  Jukka Kokkoniemi             1:03:54
   2  Syd Reader                   1:07:55
   3  Francois Leonard             1:09:03
   4  Tapio Karras                 1:13:35
   5  Steve Gregg                  1:20:54
   6  Bill Papendick               1:24:12
   7  Ian Tidswell                 1:29:46
   8  Matthias Kohler              1:31:10
   9  Chuck Spalding               1:35:56
  10  Penny DeMoss                 1:36:15
  11  Rex Winterbottom             1:42:28
  12  Gavin Wyatt-Mair             1:42:50
  13  Mark Blair                   1:43:40
  14  Evan Custer                  1:43:43
  15  Peter Graube                 1:44:58
  16  Tony Pinkham                 1:53:38
  17  Jim Fish                     4:04:00

      Deb & Brad Wetmore             DNF
      Marie-Josee Parayre            DNF
      Leif Kirschenbaum              DNF